10th Anniversary Concert


Saturday 1st February 2020. 7.00pm. All Saints, West Dulwich, SE21 8JY




To celebrate the 10th Anniversary year of Chamber Players, we have commissioned a new piece of String Quartet repertoire to be written by composer Thomas Hewitt Jones. The brief of the commission is that it should be made up of 4 short movements, and each movement should highlight a different player. The piece would therefore work as a complete unit for performances as part of a full recital programme, or for educational purposes this work can be played as individual movements, selecting the most appropriate movement for the differentiation of players within an ensemble. This is something that is not often considered when writing for 4 equal players, but for educational purposes, this would be a particularly useful resource. The composition therefore would work either on a professional level, but also would contribute something new and valuable to the advanced school-aged players’ variety of repertoire, as well as introducing New quartet writing into the standard classics.


The programme will also include Haydn Quartet op 76 no. 5 and Tchaikovsky Quartet no. 1.   

Hartmut Ometzberger

Lucy Melvin

Dorothea Vogel

Graham Walker


If you would like to support this project, celebrate the 10th anniversary event with us, and be part of something new and exciting for future string players, both on Chamber Players courses and on the professional stage, there is a Crowdfunding page set up, and any donation towards this event will be really appreciated.